Recognition and Awards for Adult Volunteers

Acknowledge and thank the volunteers who make Scouting possible

There are two main ways to recognize Scouting volunteers – formal and informal. Scouting awards can be earned by adults for tenure and training completion. There are also special awards presented through a competitive nomination process at the district, council and national levels.

Informal thank yous can be done at any time. Plaques, certificates, and other recognition items available for sale through BSA Scout Shops locally and online, as well as through other retailers. Many Scouting groups simply create their own, making cards and certificates or t-shirts and other items, often signed by youth members. Such recognitions, reflecting the creativity of youth members and other volunteers, can be the most memorable.

Formal Recognitions - Earned

Veteran Award

Presented for every five years of registration. You may count years of membership as both a youth and adult. Applications can be found online at this link and are submitted to our council office.

Training Awards and Keys

Presented for tenure, training, and performance in leadership roles in Scouting units and districts. The requirements vary based on position, with a required tenure of at least one year for Cub Scout Den Leaders awards and two years for the rest. Training Keys may be presented to the primary unit leader positions of Cubmaster, Scoutmaster, Advisor, Skipper and district operating committee chair meeting additional tenure and performance requirements. Learn more about this award here.

Formal Recognitions - Nominated For

District Award of Merit

Presented for noteworthy service to youth inside and outside of Scouting, as well as the nominee's Scouting position and their outstanding service beyond the expectations of that Scouting role within their district. The number of awards is limited annually to one for every 25 Scouting units in a district.

Silver Beaver Award

Presented for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth by registered Scouting volunteers, within our council's territory. The number of awards is limited annually to one for every 60 units in a council. Nominations are due annually in November for the following year.

Lifesaving and Meritorious Action Awards

Presented to leaders for saving, attempting to save a life, or performing an outstanding act of service of exceptional character that reflects an uncommon degree of concern for the well-being of others. Applications are reviewed by the council Advancement Committee and, if appropriate, recommendations are submitted to the National Office for higher level awards.