About Us

Kids climbing up a high ropes course on a clear, sunny day


Image of Scouts saluting in uniform.

Northern Star Scouting prepares youth in a safe and inclusive environment to be leaders and individuals of strong character.


Picture of adult leader looking out on a group of people. All branches of Scouting and several community members are shown in the crowd.

All youth have the character, confidence, and experience to improve the world.

About Us

Our History

In February of 1910, the Boy Scouts of America was founded in Washington, D.C. Only a few months later, two separate groups met to establish Boy Scout councils in Minnesota: one in Minneapolis and one in St. Paul.

On July 1, 2005, those two councils, Viking and Indianhead, merged to form today's Northern Star Council, one of the largest in the country. The council includes communities reaching from the South Dakota border to the communities of Ellsworth and Roberts, Wisconsin.

Northern Star Council, Boy Scouts of America's headquarters is at our Base Camp facility in Fort Snelling, MN.

Read More

Picture of the Leadership Center, our headquarters, during a sunset.

Northern Star Scouting Today

Our council is led by volunteers and supported by staff. The top position is our council president, who leads our 60 member board of directors and is selected through a nominating committee process and elected to serve a two-year term. The president and board hire the Scout Executive, who guides and manages our council employees. Rounding out our top leadership team is the council commissioner, appointed by the board, who directs the volunteers that work directly with leaders of Scouting groups to help them succeed.

Meet our top council leadership:

John G Patterson smiling into the camera wearing a suit.

John G. Patterson

Paul Kaus smiling into the camera wearing a suit.

Paul Kaus

John Andrews smiling into the camera wearing a suit.

John Andrews
Scout Executive

To effectively administer Scouting, our council is divided into 13 geographic districts along school district boundaries. Each has a volunteer district commissioner who directs the unit commissioners and a membership chair and committee, all supported by a district executive - a staff member serving the assigned territory.

Click Map to Enable Zoom and Scroll

Learn More