Scholarships for Higher Education

Much Better Than A Loan

Several academic scholarships are available for outstanding Northern Star Scouts, Venturers, Explorers and Camp Staff.

Northern Star Scouting Eagle Scout Scholarship

Each year, between 20 and 25 Eagle Scouts are selected to receive scholarships. Awarded annually and reviewed by committee, the process is rigorous and competitive. Online Applications open Nov 1 and close Jan 2 of the following year.

A partial list of eligibility requirements are:

  • Applicant was registered in 2023 or is currently registered with Northern Star Council, BSA.
  • The Scout must complete online application personally.
  • Applicant has been granted the Eagle Scout rank, or verified that their application for Eagle Scout rank has been received at the national office by Jan 2, 2024.
  • Applicant is a graduating high school senior entering a post-secondary school in the year the scholarship is awarded. Scholarships are awarded only to those applicants who graduate from high school in the calendar year in which scholarships are presented. Exception – An applicant whose Eagle Scout Board of Review is held after Jan 2 of their high school graduating year may apply the following year as a college freshman.

To see a full list of eligibity requirements and access the 2023 Eagle Scout Scholarship online application click on the box below.

Apply Today

American Legion's Eagle Scout of the Year

The American Legion's Eagle Scout of the Year award is a national honor that is given annually. Winners are named during the organization's Spring Meetings each May. The application is available online at and must be submitted to each applicant's respective American Legion department headquarters by March 1. The Eagle Scout of the Year will receive a $10,000 scholarship and three runners-up will each receive $2,500.

American Legion Scholarship

VFW Scout of the Year

Annually the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States awards scholarships to individuals who are: Eagle Scouts, Girl Scout Gold Award recipients, Venture Summit Award recipients and/or Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risen above their peers in exemplifying the qualities of that rank. There are local, state and national awards in most areas. Scholarship is awarded through a competitive process.

VFW Scout of the Year Website

Hamline University Robbins Leadership Award

First-year Hamiline University students with Eagle Scout rank are eligible for this $3,000 scholarship.

Hamline Scholarship

National Eagle Scout Association Scholarship

NESA offers several scholarships for qualifying Eagle Scouts. Awards range from $1000 to $48,000.

NESA Scholarship

Trooper Joshua Orbeck Memorial Scholarship

Current high-school seniors who reside in the State of Minnesota, have achieved the level of Eagle Scout and will be pursuing a career in a service industry (i.e., law enforcement, military, medical, public safety).

Trooper Joshua Orbeck Memorial Scholarship

Sons of the American Revolution Essay Contest

The National Society, Sons of the American Revolution, annually sponsors the Arthur M. & Berdena King Eagle Scout Contest, which offers a scholarship of up to $10,000 to a winning Eagle Scout. Participants apply through state societies.

Minnesota Society Sons of the American Revolution Wisconsin Scoiety Sons of the American Revolution


For Eagle Scout Scholarship information, contact
Bill Anderson-Horecka at [email protected]

Northern Star Council Venturing Scholarship

Venture Scouts who have earned the Silver or Summit Award are encouraged to apply. One scholarship is awarded annually.

When available, an application for this scholarship will appear in the Forms section of this page.

Apply Today


For Venturing Scholarship information, contact
Greg Ball at [email protected]

Exploring Scholarships

Several scholarships are available to Explorer Scouts. Applications are reviewed and selected by committee, typically in the Spring. Post advisors are notified when applications are available.

Allan G. Lee Law Enforcement Exploring Scholarship

$1000 Academic scholarship awarded to a Law Enforcement Explorer in 12th grade or above.

Willy Lee Bjorge Scholarship

$1,000 Scholarship for an Explorer who will have completed their freshman year in an accredited law enforcement training program by the following summer.

Nothern Star Exploring Scholarship

$1,000 scholarship awarded to a 12th grade Explorer from any post.


For Exploring Scholarship information, contact
Brian Swerine at [email protected]

Andersen Camp Staff Scholarship

Full-time college students who have completed a full season on camp staff at one of Northern Star's summer camps are eligible.

Gordon Kogl Staff Scholarship

Students who have worked part-time at Base Camp for at least 6 months are eligible to apply every 6 months.


For Camp Staff Scholarship information, contact Kris Burbank at [email protected]

Contact us